Stopping to Worship

When I do the Daily Examen I’ve gotta tell ya…it’s a little boring.  I think I said that before, because it is.  🙂  I think it’s boring though, because I was just kind of going through the questions, writing down seemingly little moments of how I saw God’s presence with me through out the day.  Nothing more than that, though.  I’d just think “Cool, there’s the Lord…” and be on my way.

It’s funny how easily holy moments with God can pass us by.  Life is busy, and we can quickly spend our days and weeks going from one thing to the next only to get up and do it over again.  And finding God in the ordinary is just another thing to do.  “Nice, there’s God.  Done, and done.  Next item on the agenda!”  How is it that I brush these off?  These are holy moments, where the Lord is near and revealing himself to me, yet I recognize them only long enough to let them pass me by.  In everyday circumstances, whether I recognize the Lord or not, it’s jarring to me that I can still just treat them as a fleeting experience.

So now the Lord is not only teaching me to find him in the ordinary, but he’s also requesting that I am disciplined in worship.  I think the reason is this:  For me to stop and worship the Lord when I recognize him in my midst helps me treat those moments as holy moments.

In the Old Testament it was not uncommon for the Lord to meet people in a holy moment and then ask them to stop and make an altar so that they would remember it.  After God stopped the flood that wiped out the earth and took Noah on a crazy journey of building an ark and staying in it for a long, long time Noah got out of the ark and made an altar to the Lord.  When the Lord delivered Joshua and the Israelites from the wilderness and miraculously helped them cross the Jordan River they made an altar to remember the amazing experience they had with God.

Finding God in the ordinary isn’t as spectacular as crossing the Jordan River during flood season or surviving a year-long flood in an ark, but I guess that’s the point of finding him in the ordinary isn’t it?  Anyway, my response to those moments is where the discipline of worship comes in, because the act of worship serves the purpose of allowing me to stand in those ordinary moments with God and treat them as holy moments.  After all, any moment with the Lord is holy.

Something about responding to everyday moments with God in worship lets the experiences with Jesus seep into my core.  It does a similar thing to what making an altar does–responding in worship calls me to turn to the Lord and sit with him rather than let the moments simply pass me by.  I don’t want to live a life that is full of moments with God which I let slip through my fingers.  What’s the point of that?

And I have to believe that the more I sit with Jesus when he’s revealing himself to me the closer I will be with him and the more I will become like him.

2 Comments

Filed under life with Jesus, worship

2 responses to “Stopping to Worship

  1. “It does a similar thing to what making an altar does–responding in worship calls me to turn to the Lord and sit with him rather than let the moments simply pass me by.”

    Thanks for this Audrey. Really like this articulation of making altars.

  2. coicoy

    Audrey,

    Your post was influential in the process I wrote about in my most recent post. Hope you are well.

    –Mark

Leave a Reply

